Iguana – Karen Blixen Out of Africa

Out of Africa, by Karen Blixen

Salamander

Salamander

Once I killed an iguana. I was rejoicing in advance, thinking of everything I could do with its skin. I then saw something I will never forget.

As I walked through the twenty steps that separated it from me, I saw it wither before my eyes as if all it’s shine expired in a long breath, and when I got to touch it it was just a lump of cement, grey and dull.

It is the blood that runs under its skin that gives this magnificent shine. Once the flamme has been put out, and the soul has flown away it does no longer exist: it becomes a lump of sand”.

***

Xsalamandra

Salamander

“J’ai  tué une fois un iguane, je me réjouissais à l’avance de tout ce que je pourrais faire de sa peau, et je fus témoin d’un phénomène que je n’ai jamais oublié.

Pendant que je franchissais les quelques vingt mètres qui le séparaient de moi, je le vis se faner sous mes yeux, comme si tout son éclat s’exhalait en un long soupir, et lorsque je pus le toucher, ce n’était plus d’un bloc de ciment, gris mat.

C’est le sang qui court sous la peau de la bête qui lui donne son merveilleux éclat.

Lorsque la flamme s’est éteinte et l’âme envolée, l’iguane n’existe pas plus qu’un tas de sable”.

.

.

4 thoughts on “Iguana – Karen Blixen Out of Africa

Leave a Reply

